MO Efficiency Building Codes

Missouri currently does not have statewide energy efficiency building codes for commercial or residential projects.However, municipalities can adopt building codes.

The following large jurisdictions in Missouri have adopted 2009 IECC or equivalent codes: – St. Louis metropolitan area cities of St. Louis, St. Charles, O’Fallon, Florissant, Wildwood, Affton, Manchester, and Clayton.

In 2012, Kansas City adopted the 2012 IECC with many metropolitan area cities planning to follow. Independence adopted the 2012 IECC with energy conservation provisions mostly optional but encouraged. Springfield adopted the 2012 IECC with amendments to residential construction that are equivalent to the 2006 IECC. Lastly, Columbia adopted the 2012 IECC.